Oxenhope Millennium Green Fete 2014

A new award, the Tony Minikin Prize, was presented at Oxenhope Millennium Green Fete on Saturday 28 June.

It was created in honour of the popular former President of the Keighley and Craven Athletics Club, whose sudden death was announced at the start of the annual Fell Race. The first to receive the prize was Colin Feather of Marsh Harriers (1st Veteran Over 60).

The Fell Race, which was the opening event of the Village Fete, attracted 31 runners. It was won by Christian Holmes, who shaved 21 seconds off the previous record coming in at 22 minutes 27 seconds. Further results are summarised below.

Marsh Harriers were judged the winners in the tug of war competition against The Rest of the World, and in the Junior tug of war game, The Girls beat The Boys.

Also in the arena were Dog Agility demonstrations, children and family races and a school performance led by the Revd Nigel Wright. Haworth Band played, plastic ducks were raced in the beck, there were the usual stalls, home made cakes were plentiful and warm drinks  appreciated.

Ken Eastwood, Chair of the Millennium Green Trust, said, “I’d like to thank everyone involved with the fete, including our sponsors and the volunteers who worked tirelessly before and after the event. It was a lovely village fete, enjoyed by all.”

The annual Fete raises money for the upkeep of the village amenity, the Millennium Green.

Race was 3.3 miles rising to 500ft

Position Name Team Time
1st Male Christian Holmes Wharfdale Harriers 22.27 (course record)
2nd Male Daniel Cross Hyde Park Harriers 24.21
3rd Male Colin Tranter Hyde Park Harriers
1st Female Anne Milner Wharfdale Harriers 34.00
2nd Female Nicola Leng No Team 34.29
1st Veteran (Over 40) Male Ken Fox Hyde Park Harriers 30.03
1st Veteran (Over 40) Female Diane McDonald Keighley & Craven AC 36.06
1st Veteran (Over 60) Male Colin Feather Marsh Harriers 31.55
1st Local Male Paul Crabtree Wharfdale Harriers 24.40
1st Local Female Lynn Murphy Keighley & Craven AC 34.57


Contest Position Name
TourDeFrance Poster Winner Tyler Thackray, age 7
Sack Race (Under 6) 1st Place Katie Prysiaznyg
Sack Race (Under 10s) 1st Place Jacob Haigh
Sack Race (Under 10s) 2nd Place Lilly Ellis
Sack Race (over 10s) 1st Place Eleanor Walker
Sack Race (over 10s) 2nd Place William Herd
Egg & Spoon (Under 6) 1st Place Aaron Griffiths
Egg & Spoon (Under 6) 2nd Place Daniel Sergeant
Egg & Spoon (Under 10s) 1st Place Lilly Ellis
Egg & Spoon (Under 10s) 2nd Place Charlotte Bailey
Egg & Spoon (over 10s) 1st Place Paris Ahmed
Egg & Spoon (over 10s) 2nd Place Niamh Wells
Three – legged Race (1) 1st Place Lewis Verdeyen & Reuben Clements
Three – legged Race (1) 2nd Place Jacob Haigh & Tyler Thackray
Three – legged Race (2) 1st Place Charlotte Bailey & Maddie Lambert
Three – legged Race (2) 1st Place Eleanor Walker & Katie Carling
Tug – of – War 2/2 Marsh Harriers
Tug – of – War 2/2 Girls Team
Family / Group Games 1st Place Family Haigh, Thackray, Ellis & Sollitt
Family / Group Games 2nd Place Family Lambert & Bailey




Winning prize numbers not yet claimed:-

YELLOW          313

GREEN             101

PINK                  111

YELLOW          231

GREEN             259

GREEN             248

GREEN             220

GREEN             466

GREEN             141

PINK                 196

PINK                 225

PINK                 176

GREEN             278


Please contact Chris Coupland on 01535 643244 to claim your prize.